Welcome and Introduction

 

The Center for History and Economics online seminar hosts presentations and discussions on recent research in history, economics, and related disciplines. Ranging widely across historical periods and around the globe, the seminar covers topics including economic thought, histories of economic life, environmental history, and legal history. The seminar is also intended to bring together, regularly throughout the academic year and in a spirit of scholarly exchange, friends and affiliates of the Center in Cambridge, Harvard, Paris, and elsewhere.

We are delighted to announce the new Autumn 2021 program. If you wish to attend one or more sessions, please register below for a Zoom invitation. Each presentation will be approximately 20 minutes, followed by a 30 minute discussion.

 

Wednesday 15 September 2021

12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST / 18:00 CEST

Nicolas Barreyre (EHESS) and Claire Lemercier (Sciences Po)

The Unexceptional State: Rethinking the State in the Nineteenth Century (France, United States)

Further information »

 

Wednesday 13 October 2021

12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST / 18:00 CEST

Vanessa Ogle (UC Berkeley)

Histories of Capitalism: the View from Offshore

Further information »

 

Wednesday 17 November 2021

12:00 EST / 17:00 GMT / 18:00 CET

Nikolas Bowie (Harvard)

The Judicial Counterrevolution to Reconstruction

Further information and to register »